About People Events Books Research News Contact Education Next

Program Faculty

Advisory Committee

Affiliated Faculty

Research Affiliates

Academic Visitors

Postdoctoral Fellows

Research Fellows



PEPG People
Paul E. Peterson, Director
Henry Lee Shattuck Professor of Government
Senior Editor, Education Next

Bio  •   CV  •  Website

email: ppeterso@gov.harvard.edu  •  Phone: 617-495-8312/7976


Martin R. West, Deputy Director
Professor of Education
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Editor-in-Chief, Education Next


email: martin_west@gse.harvard.edu

In 2002 PEPG formed the advisory committee, under the chairmanship of Bruce Kovner, founder of Caxton Associates, to counsel the program on potential research topics, ways of communicating to a broader audience, and other ideas for improving the program. The committee has since met on an annual basis and has been instrumental in assisting the program achieve its core missions. Jeb Bush, Governor of Florida from 1999 to 2007, next served as chairman from 2009 to 2015.

Steve Klinsky
New Mountain Capital, LLC

Cory Booker
United States Senator, New Jersey

Cesar Conde

Bruce Douglas
Harvard Development Company

Timothy Draper
Draper Fisher Jurvetson

C. Boyden Gray
Boyden Gray & Associates PLLC

Phil Handy
Winter Park Capital Company

Roger Hertog
Alliance Capital Management

Al Hubbard
E&A Industries

Richard R. Hough III
Silvercrest Asset Management Group LLC

John F. Kirtley
KLH Capital, L.P.

Deborah McGriff

Daniel S. Peters
Lovett & Ruth Peters Foundation

James Piereson
William E. Simon Foundation

Michael Podgursky
University of Missouri

Jerry Rappaport
Phyllis and Jerome Lyle Rappaport Foundation

Nina S. Rees
National Alliance for Public Charter Schools

Back to Top

Nathan Glazer
Professor of Education, Emeritus
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Joshua Goodman
Assistant Professor of Public Policy
Harvard Kennedy School

Christopher Jencks
Malcolm Wiener Professor of Social Policy
Kennedy School of Government

Richard Light
Walter H. Gale Professor of Education
Harvard Graduate School of Education

Donald Rubin
John L. Loeb Professor of Statistics
Department of Statistics

Back to Top

Christopher Berry
Associate Professor
Harris School of Public Policy
University of Chicago

David E. Campbell
Professor of Political Science
University of Notre Dame

Rajashri Chakrabarti
Federal Reserve Bank of New York

Albert Cheng
Assistant Professor — College of Education and Health Professions
University of Arkansas

Matthew Chingos
Senior Fellow, Income and Benefits Policy Center
Urban Institute

Anna J. Egalite
Assistant Professor, Dept. of Educational Leadership, Policy, and Human Development
North Carolina State University

Leslie Finger
Lecturer on Government and Social Studies
Harvard University

Jay P. Greene
Department Head and 21st Century ChaiR in Education Reform
University of Arkansas

Eric A. Hanushek
Paul and Jean Hanna Senior Fellow
Hoover Institution, Stanford University

Daniel Hamlin
Assistant Professor — Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
The University of Oklahoma


Michael Henderson
Assistant Professor of Research — Director, Public Policy Research Lab
Manship School of Mass Communication
Louisiana State University

Frederick M. Hess
Resident Scholar and Director of Education Policy Studies
American Enterprise Institute

William G. Howell
Sydney Stein Professor of American Politics
Harris School of Public Policy
University of Chicago

Caroline M. Hoxby
Scott and Donya Bommer Professor in Economics
Stanford University

Brian Jacob
Walter H. Annenberg Professor of Education Policy
Gerald R. Ford School of Public Policy
University of Michigan

Beth Schueler
Assistant Professor — Education and Public Policy
University of Virginia

Martina Viarengo
Professor of Economics
Graduate Institute of International and Development Studies of Geneva

Ludger Woessmann
Professor of Economics of Education
University of Munich
Human Capital and Innovation Dept. Head
Ifo Institute for Economic Research

Patrick J. Wolf
Professor and Endowed Chair in School Choice
Department of Education Reform
University of Arkansas


Back to Top
Richard Barth
Chief Executive Officer, KIPP Public Schools
Co-instructor, SUP-448: The Political Economy of the School, Harvard Kennedy School of Government, Fall 2018

Hon. Clint Bolick
Associate Justice, Arizona Supreme Court
Co-instructor, SUP-448: The Political Economy of the School, Harvard Kennedy School of Government, Fall 2018

Alberto Carvalho
Superintendent, Miami-Dade County Public Schools
Co-instructor, SUP-448: The Political Economy of the School, Harvard Kennedy School of Government, Fall 2018
Hanna Skandera
Editor-in-Chief, The Line; Former Secretary of Education of New Mexico, 2010-17
Co-instructor, SUP-448: The Political Economy of the School, Harvard Kennedy School of Government, Fall 2018
Erica Suares
Senior Policy Advisor, Office of the Senate Majority Leader, Senator Mitch McConnell
Visiting instructor, GOV-30: American Government, A New Perspective, Department of Government, Harvard University, Fall 2018
Back to top
David Houston
Email: David_Houston@hks.harvard.edu
Dany Shakeel
Email: Danish_Shakeel@hks.harvard.edu
Back to top

Elisabeth Grewenig, ifo Institute
Email: grewenig@ifo.de

Carlos Xabel Lastra-Anadón, Government Department and Social Policy Program
Email: carlos.lastra.anadon@gmail.com

Tyler Simko, Government Department
Email: tsimko@g.harvard.edu

Back to Top
Antonio Wendland
Associate Director

Email: antonio_wendland@hks.harvard.edu  •  Phone: 617-495-7976

Ira Stoll Ira Stoll
Managing Editor, Education Next

Email: ira_stoll@hks.harvard.edu  •  Phone: 617-496-2064

Melissa Fall Melissa Fall
Assistant Managing Editor, Education Next

Email: melissa_fall@hks.harvard.edu

Nick Tavares

Nick Tavares
Research, Data and Web Manager
Web Editor, Education Next

Email: nick_tavares@hks.harvard.edu  •  Phone: 617-495-8575

Michael Poor

Michael Poor
Staff Assistant

Email: michael_poor@hks.harvard.edu  •  Phone: 617-496-5488

Back to Top