h o m e i n t r o c u r r i c u l u m f a c u l t y s t u d e n t s r e s o u r c e s n e w s a p p l y
P h. D.  P r o g r a m s  i n  S o c i a l  P o l i c y  H o m e





Social Policy Ph.D. faculty

:: Core Faculty
Doctoral students work primarily with Core Faculty members drawn from the Government and Sociology departments in the Faculty of Arts and Sciences (FAS) and with the Social Policy faculty of the Harvard Kennedy School.

To learn more about the Social Policy faculty, please visit Inequality & Social Policy faculty

Social Policy PhD students regularly work with other faculty members in their home department as well, even if not formally affiliated with the Social Policy program. Applicants will also want to view the faculty pages in their intended field:

:: Harvard Department of Government faculty
:: Harvard Department of Sociology faculty

:: Affiliated Faculty
While affiliated faculty from other departments hold no formal advising roles in the program, they may offer courses of interest to Social Policy students and serve occasionally on Social Policy dissertation committees.


Social Policy Ph.D. Chair

:: Devah Pager, Sociologist


Danielle Allen
Daniel Carpenter
Ryan D. Enos
Claudine Gay
Peter A. Hall
Michael Hiscox
Jennifer Hochschild
Torben Iversen
Paul E. Peterson
Robert D. Putnam (Emeritus)
Jon C. Rogowski
Theda Skocpol


Jason Beckfield
Lawrence Bobo
Bart Bonikowski
Mary C. Brinton
Frank Dobbin
Alexandra Killewald
Michèle Lamont
Orlando Patterson
Robert J. Sampson
Mario Luis Small
Mary C. Waters
Christopher Winship

Social Policy

Mary Jo Bane (Emeritus)
George J.
Amitabh Chandra
David T. Ellwood
Ronald F. Ferguson
Archon Fung
Jason Furman
Joshua S. Goodman
Christopher Jencks (Emeritus)
Alexander Keyssar
Jennifer S. Lerner
Jeffrey B. Liebman
Brigitte Madrian
Jane J. Mansbridge
Quinton Mayne
Khalil Gibran Muhammad
Todd Rogers
Maya Sen
Mark Shepard
Daniel Shoag
Julie Boatright Wilson
William Julius Wilson
Leah Wright Rigueur



Richard B. Freeman
Roland G. Fryer
Xavier Gabaix
Edward L. Glaeser
Claudia Goldin
Nathaniel Hendren
Lawrence F. Katz
David Laibson
Sendhil Mullainathan
Amanda Pallais
Stefanie Stantcheva


Graduate Sch. of Education

Roberto G. Gonzales
Thomas J. Kane
Jal Mehta
Richard J. Murnane (Emeritus)
Martin West


Pamela L. Metz







Harvard Ph.D. Programs in Social Policy | Housed at the John F. Kennedy School
of Government | 79 JFK Street | Cambridge, MA 02138 | Tel: 617.496.0109

Site design by Pamela Metz | Last updated by PMetz 13 Dec 2017| social_policy@harvard.edu
©2014 by the President and Fellows of Harvard College | Report copyright infringements

Site Meter
J o h n  F.  K e n n e d y   S c h o o l  o f  G o v e r n m e n t H a r v a r d  U n i v e r s i t y John F. Kennedy School of Government Harvard University Harvard University John F. Kennedy School of Government